UFJF - Universidade Federal de Juiz de Fora

Passports and Visas

You are at: Travel Info > Passports and Visas


Unless you are a citizen from one of the countries included in MERCOSUL, you will be required a passport to travel to Brazil. Passports must be valid for at least six more months of the date of travel.


According to the Ministry of International Relations, attendees to scientific conferences may be required a tourism visa to enter Brazil, depending on whether their countries require Brazilians to hold tourism visas as well. Below, there is a list of countries whose citizens are EXEMPTED of the visa requirement for stays which do not exceed 90 days:

Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia
, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador
, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Guiana, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein
, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Malaysia
, Malta, Monaco, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Saint Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Surinam, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunis, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Vatican, Venezuela.

Please note that visa exemption policies may change and that your country of citizenship may be either included in or excluded from the tourism visa exemption list provided above. When the time comes to plan your trip to Brazil, be sure to double check this information with your travel agent.